black-bunny

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Must. Waste. Time.

I�ve had a lot of good times this last year. Mostly, at the bar. I�ve met a number of fascinating folks, some just in passing, some who I hang with regularly at the bar, all interesting.

I have this very fond, if hazy, memory of a night I showed up at my favourite tavern. I was still on the graveyard shift, so I must of showed up at 1 a.m. (drinking at 11 p.m. feels too much like getting drunk at noon, somehow making to it 1 a.m. stops the cognitive dissonance).

I saddled up to the bar, ordered a 50 and people watched. At this point, most folks are loaded, the crowd gets a little weird, an odd mix of punks (young and old alike), barflies, and folks wanting to show their tough side after spending a mint at the martini or dance bar. All in all, it�s really interesting to watch. Sometimes people come up and talk to me, and more often than not, they are pleasant. Men chat me up, ask me what I think of the place (I sometimes get the �you�re too pretty to be here�), and women will often compliment my hair or ask me where I bought my shirt/pants/boots.

One evening this gentleman came up and started talking to me about my hair, saying it was the colour of autumn leaves in the Laurentians (!) and then sauntered off. He came back a few minutes later, and started a conversation about the coma he was in a few years ago, and how he saw the edge of life, and how he made a decision to comeback. I was listening with rapt attention. He had fallen at work, and now could never really work again because he head was never quite right after. He had to learn how to walk and speak all over again. He couldn�t drink anymore either, saying that he became incoherent after a beer. But he never stopped coming here, because it was a place he loved.

Then he sauntered off again. I was amazed. He took 20 minutes of my time, was a perfect gentleman, didn�t ask to buy me a beer, or for my phone number and was satisfied with telling his story.

All I wanted to say was �Come back perfectly interesting guy! Tell me more!� But it was late and the bar was closing soon.

Now, there is a trick to staying in a bar after-hours.

Sit at the bar, perfectly still, make a lot of eye-contact with the bartender, and if they ask you if you are waiting for someone, just say you were hoping to stick around for a little while. It helps if you�ve been going to the bar for years, and you�ve come in alone.

Not stirring up shit while your there is a good rule too.

So, there I sit, quietly, and sip the water I�m drinking (not having a beer in your hands helps them with the legality of everything).

Then the bartender, with a couple of friends at the bar, locks up, turns off almost all the lights, and lets the fun begin.

I proceeded to get very, very fucked up. I laughed it up with total strangers, and made them pee themselves with my one-liners.

I love making people laugh.

I reduced myself and a couple of female patrons to tears, and did Jager shots with abandon. My favourite moment came when one person was seemingly yelling to no one in particular (he was talking to someone in the cooler behind the bar) and I turned to my fellow drinkers and slurred, �You know who he�s talking to? To that �exit� sign right there!�

He really did look like he was talking to the door, and we just about died.

That�s all really. Good times, what I remember.



Held my shit together for 20 minutes.

Then I just let it all go.

I feel better.

Damn.

1:34 p.m. - 2004-07-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

writhe
shannonk
the-aerie
ivoryfaerie
morguecrawl
andrew
sarrowzend
warmleftover
Idiot-Milk
dailywisdom
creepatron
his-holiness
gerg69
im2evil4u
holdensolo
hissandtell