black-bunny

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Case of You - Joni Mitchell Lyrics (As sung by Tori Amos)

just before our love got lost you said,
"i am as constant as the northern star."
and i said, "constantly in the darkness
where's that at?
if you want me i'll be in the bar."
on the back of a cotton coaster
in the blue t.v. screen light
i drew a map of canada
oh canada
with your face sketched on it twice.

in my blood like holy wine
you taste so bitter and so sweet
well, i could drink a case of you, darling
and i would still be on my feet
i would still be on my feet.

oh i am a lonely painter
i live in a box of paints
i'm frightened by the devil
and i'm drawn to those ones that ain't afraid.
i remember that time you told me
"love is touching souls"
surely you touched mine
'cause part of you pours out of me
in these lines from time to time.

my blood
my holy wine
tastes so bitter and so sweet
well i could drink a case of you, darling
and i would still be on my feet
i would still be on my feet

i met a woman
she had a mouth like yours
she knew your devils and your deeds
and she said, "go to him, stay with him
but be prepared to bleed"

my blood
my holy wine
tastes so bitter and so sweet
well i could drink a case of you, darling
and i would still be on my feet
i would still be on my feet

Evileddy once told me that Mazzy Star�s �Fade Into You� was a song that made him think of me*. I never really thought about it, though it is one of my favourite female vocal songs. I didn�t see how, though, he came to think of me with this song. But we don�t always understand these things.

I suppose it�s the same with the song �A Case of You�.

For some reason, it makes me think of Godboy. Everytime. He was really the first person that I spoke openly about my thoughts on love, soulmates and the like. In the end, he ended up influencing the way I saw love, and it, since, has taken on a rosy, romantic view.

I remember that time you told me
"love is touching souls"
surely you touched mine
'cause part of you pours out of me
in these lines from time to time.


There is something about the bitter sweetness of the song that resonates in me. Love meaning pain, as well.

I met a woman
she had a mouth like yours
she knew your devils and your deeds
and she said, "go to him,
stay with him
but be prepared to bleed
"

I really would love to get into this more, but I've been at work for almost 12 hours, and I have a 5 hour long trip to see before I can get any sleep.

C-ya!
* (originally, I had mistyped and wrote me think of him, which, isn't true. That song would be Tool - Stinkfist)

8:47 a.m. - 2004-10-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

writhe
shannonk
the-aerie
ivoryfaerie
morguecrawl
andrew
sarrowzend
warmleftover
Idiot-Milk
dailywisdom
creepatron
his-holiness
gerg69
im2evil4u
holdensolo
hissandtell